LBO Home IndoChina | About Us | To Advertise | Contact Us rss LBO Mobil rss rss rss rss rss
Thu, 13 December 2018 00:59:38
Sri Lanka Parliament passes 19th amendment
28 Apr, 2015 19:10:04
Apr 28, 2015 (LBO) - Sri Lanka’s Parliament on Tuesday approved the second reading of the much awaited 19th amendment with a two third majority.

215 parliamentarians voted in favor of the 19th amendment while Dr. Sarath Weerasekara voted against it.

Ajith Kumara was the only parliamentarian who abstained.

Basil Rajapaksa, Premala Jayasekara, Keheliya Rambukwella, A Vinayagamoorthy, Ven Ellawala Medhananda, Jagath Balasuriya and Janaka Bandara were absent.

However it is yet to pass through the committee stage and third reading.

During the committee stage, amendments may be moved to a Bill.

Before taking the vote Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe informed Parliament that they have reached a consensus on Constitutional Council.

As per the new consensus, the constitutional council will comprise the Prime Minister, Speaker, Opposition Leader, seven parliamentarians and three external experts.


Bookmark and Share
Your Comment
Your Name/Handle
Your Email (Your email will not be displayed)
Your Email
Receivers Email
Your Comment